day 2: reluctant blogging, or if a 14-year old girl reveals her true thoughts in the blogosphere, will anyone hear them?

2 Jan

 

When Ms. Dell assigns an essay, it’s not like I get all excited, but I know what to do. When I’m writing for myself in my paper journal, I write my inner thoughts or sometimes a poem. There’s no way I’m doing that on a blog, even though I know that nobody is even reading it out there except Ms. Dell.

If I were a tree in a forest and fell, I might not actually make a sound, but I would still know that I’d fallen. I mean these words might just be going out into space, but they’re still my words, and I don’t want my feelings strewn across the public atmosphere for just anyone to pick up.

Sorry, Ms. Dell, I’m sure I will come up with something in the future. Does writing about not wanting to write count?

3 Responses to “day 2: reluctant blogging, or if a 14-year old girl reveals her true thoughts in the blogosphere, will anyone hear them?”

  1. Ms. Garr May 2, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    I think it is natural for writers to ponder the writing process, which includes what to write, what they don’t want to write, and what they want to write but not share. An occasional post on the art of writing is fine, but before you specialize, branch out to other topics. And speaking of branches–I really like your line “If I were a tree in a forest and fell,I might not actually make a sound, but I would still know that I’d fallen.”

  2. Dave May 15, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    Like it! Does the tree pic need some credit? Where did it come from? What does the underlined (linked) text refer to?

    • lupejones May 16, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

      Tree pic was from a free Web site. Do I still need to credit the photo? I’m still figuring out how to link text, so right now it’s not going anywhere…

Leave a Reply

